Butterscotch pudding

Once you try this you will not buy the boxed pudding ever again.  Then again why would you want to who knows what’s in that  box.  This recipe is from Betty Crocker and it takes minutes to make and topped with whipped cream it’s delicious.

In a sauce pan put 2/3 cup brown sugar, 2 tablespoons cornstarch,  1/8 teaspoon salt, 2 cups milk and whisk together.  Bring to a boil on medium heat and let boil for 1 minute.  Add half of the mixture to 2 egg yolks that are slightly beaten and then put back into the  sauce pan. Bring to a boil and let boil for 1 minute.  Take off heat and add 2 tablespoons soft butter and 1 tsp vanilla. I like to strain it through a sieve in case the eggs have cooked a little.  Doing this will insure a smooth pudding. Pour into serving dishes and chill.

Image

About didicooks

I started cooking as a hobby when I was in my early 20's. After a career in law enforcement I got a job at the retreat center where I was able to cook many different dishes. I was also able to make bread which was a dream come true for me. My supervisor encouraged me to make bread as often as I wanted and to try different recipes as well. I love to make bread and other doughs every chance I can at home. I am trying to cook healthier and look forward to sharing those recipes with you as well. In 2015 I started working at a homeless shelter locally. This was one of the best experiences I could have had. I had to make menus using what food was donated through local stores and farms. It was amazing to research and come up with meals that my staff could make that were restaurant quality.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Holiday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Butterscotch pudding

  1. Theresa says:

    What? No whipped cream?

  2. Pam says:

    Mmmmmm!!!! Looks delicious!!!

Leave a comment